Monday, November 19, 2007

Qualification document


Earlier in the year, we announced that in order to compete at the New York City FIRST LEGO League Championship at Riverbank State Park on January 26, 2008, NYC FLL teams must first qualify at one of five qualifying tournaments being held in the boroughs beginning December 1, 2007.

Please see our complete announcement on this matter which was sent to teams and posted on our website at: .

To reiterate, teams that do not qualify at a borough qualifying tournament will not be able to compete at the citywide championship. NO EXCEPTIONS. In addition – New York City FIRST will not be offering any other additional events for teams that fail to compete at the qualifying tournaments.

In order to qualify and compete at the 2008 New York City FIRST LEGO League Championship, a team must:

1. Be based within the five boroughs of New York City;

2. Compete at one of the five borough qualifying FLL tournaments;

3. Win at least one of the six awards (any place) given out at their borough qualifying tournament.

The following awards will be given out at each tournament:

1. Directors Award
2. Robot Performance Award
3. Project Award
4. Teamwork Award
5. Robot Design Award
6. Judges’ Award

The number of places for each award (i.e., 1st, 2nd, etc.) will be based on the planned size of the borough tournament such that the number of teams advancing from each tournament will be roughly proportional to the tournament’s size. A total of 86 awards will be given out at the five borough tournaments, thereby qualifying up to 86 teams to compete at the New York City Championship. Judges will be using the standard judging criteria for each award as explained in the coaches’ manual as well as outlined on the webpage:

If your team is not yet registered for a borough qualifying tournament, please do so right away.

For a calendar of tournaments and to register for your team’s borough tournament, please see

No comments: